BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Rajaram
Obsidian | Level 7

I wanted to create an R equivalent SAS code for the below one. I am not an expert in R. I tried to understand especially y-axis calculation in SAS. How do we drive it or any function in SAS to get this value?

mpg %>% ggplot(aes(displ,fill = factor(cyl), color = factor(cyl))) +
geom_histogram(aes(y = 100*after_stat(width*density)),
binwidth = 2.5,
position = position_dodge())
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

Caveat: I don't speak R, so I have no real understanding of that code.

I have to assume that you have a SAS data set. So I would suggest first running Proc SGPLOT with all the defaults for a histogram:

proc sgplot data=yourdatasetname;
histogram variable;
run;

And see how well that works for what you want.

When I see something like "y = 100*after_stat" in code I suspect that Percentages may be involved and this converting decimal .3 to 30 percent. If that is the case then perhaps the option SCALE=PERCENT would be appropriate for the code:

histogram variable  /   scale=percent;
run;

SAS has two basic options for setting the widths NBINS= or BIDWIDTH=. The first sets the number of bins, other sets a width based on the values of the variable to group together. If you want 100 bins

histogram variable  /   scale=percent
                        nbins=100
;
run;

If you want each bin to span 2.5 units  (of what ever is measured)

binwidth=2.5
;
run;

Look in the online help for other options and experiment.

If you need help with options then be prepared to provide example data as a working data step and example code that got "close" to what you want. Then describe what is needed to modify the plot.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
DanH_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Can you run this and post a picture?

Rajaram
Obsidian | Level 7

Rajaram_0-1724928059658.png