BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sw930
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all, 

I am a novice SAS user who has not used macros in the past and feel a bit in over my head at this point. Essentially I am trying to produce a KM curve for overall survival across different classes of a large cohort of cancer patients using the %newsurv macro. When I stumbled across %newsurv while trying to read up on customizing survival curves in SAS, it seemed to be hugely useful so I thought Id try it out, but I have a feeling I am oversimplifying this whole process. 

Thus far; 

I produced a normal KM curve using:

proc lifetest plot=survival(nocensor atrisk) conftype=linear ;
time survtime*vitalstatus(1);
strata nodalgroup;
run;

I then tried to apply %newsurv by downloading Newsurv_08012016.sas and running the program/code to call in the macro. I did this in a separate window and didn't think that changed anything but let me know if it does; 

Then, to apply it to my data, I used the code:

%newsurv (Data=micromets, time=survtime, cens=vitalstatus, cen_vl=1, class nodalgroup);

When I highlight this and click run, nothing really happens. It states "ERROR: All positional parameters must precede keyword parameters."  I know I'm falling short somewhere, but really just scratching my head trying to figure out these first few steps.

Any assistance with this would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

- S

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
JeffMeyers
Barite | Level 11
Hello, That is actually my macro. If you have any questions on using it feel free to e-mail me directly (jpmeyers.spa@gmail.com). The issue is you don't have an equal sign between class and your variable name.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
JeffMeyers
Barite | Level 11