BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
NKormanik
Barite | Level 11

Using a new stand-alone computer that has 32 GB RAM, 6 core processors. Trying to tell SAS to go ahead and use as much of the resources as possible.

Trouble is, with the settings below, a job is SLOWER than with a previous average computer.

Please advise on which of these 'options' likely needs to be changed:

-JREOPTIONS=(
-Xms1g
-Xmx1g )

-BUFNO MAX
-BUFSIZE MAX
-CPUCOUNT 6
-DMSLOGSIZE = 999999
-IBUFNO MAX
-IBUFSIZE MAX
-LRECL = MAX
-MEMSIZE = MAX
-REALMEMSIZE = MAX
-SET SAS_NO_RANDOM_ACCESS = "0"
-SORTSIZE = MAX
-SUMSIZE = MAX
-THREADS
-UBUFNO MAX

Thanks very much!

Nicholas Kormanik

10 REPLIES 10
Sven111
Pyrite | Level 9

I'm not an expert on this stuff, but if I recall you shouldn't set the REALMEMSIZE bigger than the amount of physical RAM your system has.  I think there's diminishing returns on the various buffer related options and it's somewhat filesystem dependent on what's best. I think I just wrote a quick shell script that iterated over a range of values to try and find the sweet spot.

Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18

Defining MAX for so many options makes system great overhead.

try change options to:

-BUFNO 3
-BUFSIZE MAX
-CPUCOUNT 6                         /* is your PC with 6 CPUs ? */
-DMSLOGSIZE = 999999
-IBUFNO 3
-IBUFSIZE MAX
-LRECL = MAX
-MEMSIZE = 0                        /* 0 means using MAX with HD if need */
-REALMEMSIZE =                  /* use default value */
-SET SAS_NO_RANDOM_ACCESS = "0"
-SORTSIZE = MAX
-SUMSIZE = MAX
-THREADS
-UBUFNO MAX

With so many options, you should try changing each time one option and check for performence.

NKormanik
Barite | Level 11
Changing one option at a time, through all possibilities for each option,
would take a year or so to complete.

Hoping for a more direct approach for finding the "sweet spot."

##- Please type your reply above this line. Simple formatting, no
attachments. -##
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@NKormanik