BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Mena11
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone,

I would have some questions about how to connect to CAS via SWAT. I am a system administrator and for security reasons we do not like that users passwords are written in the code or put in some file on the client (although they are entered in a protected .authinfo).

Are there other ways to allow authentication to CAS, perhaps through a prompt or integration with LDAP?

Thanks

Davide

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SundareshS
Obsidian | Level 7
I also use the getpass module so that users enter the password if they are working on a notebook interactively. Otherwise I use authinfo.

import getpass
s = swat.CAS( ...., user, getpass.getpass())

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
alexal
SAS Employee

@Mena11 ,

You could encode your password in .authinfo file, please see the instructions here https://go.documentation.sas.com/?cdcId=pgmsascdc&cdcVersion=9.4_3.5&docsetId=authinfo&docsetTarget=.... If you still do not want to use .authinfo file, then you could provide username and password in your program, for example here is what you can use in Python SWAT:

import swat
conn = swat.CAS(host, port, username, password)
SundareshS
Obsidian | Level 7
I also use the getpass module so that users enter the password if they are working on a notebook interactively. Otherwise I use authinfo.

import getpass
s = swat.CAS( ...., user, getpass.getpass())
joeFurbee
Community Manager

Adding to the comment from @SundareshS. While not a specific SWAT example, in section 1.2 of this SASGF 2020 paper from @anbout , Ten Minutes to Your First Hello World: REST APIs, outlines how to use getPass(). The accompanying Jupyter notebook is located in the supporting GitHub repository.

Join us for SAS Community Trivia
SAS Bowl XLIII, The New SAS Developer Portal