BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
DavidMcGarry
Calcite | Level 5

Hi

I am new to SAS and even newer to Hive.

I have setup both a microsoft and Simba odbc driver connection to Hive. I added the Simba one as I didnt have any joy with the Microsoft drive, albeit the connection worked for both.

My issue is that all our external hive tables and there are about 100 tables are written with the initial letters of all columns in capitals eg Cust_Add table, but when I pull this from HIVE into SAS it comes in as cust_add. I have added things to the odbc connection like LCaseSspKeyName=0 and ticked the box when registering the table in sas to 'Enable case sensitive DBMS.....' But I am having no joy.

I wonder if any of you guys can assist me with this.........I need to pull over the Cust_Add table and not the cust_add table, otherwise I have to rebuild over 100 tables.

I don't have sas/access.

SAS ver 9.4m5

Runs on Windows Server 2012 R2 63

Thank You 

David

5 REPLIES 5
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

Just to get some clarification:

"I don't have sas/access"

Do you mean to Hadoop? I mean, you need SAS/ACCESS to ODBC in order to access data througha n ODBC driver...?

"Register a table"

Refers to SAS Metadata Server registration, with use from DI Studio and others...?

Please share libname statement and other configurations/optiosn set in its context.

Data never sleeps
DavidMcGarry
Calcite | Level 5

I have setup the odbc to the hive environment. And it works......I actually have 2 setup one using Microsoft hive odbc and simba hive odbc as I thought I might overcome the issue with the latter driver.

libname and register shown in screen shots......

DavidMcGarry_0-1585260630973.png

DavidMcGarry_1-1585260656295.png

problem lies here in the following screenshot.............

when I look at the tables registered from hive I see and can access them but the table columns are all small letters.....

DavidMcGarry_2-1585260780706.png

But this is actually defined in hive as