BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Count
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello all, 

I am using SAS Studio 5.1 (VIYA release V.03.04). 

I am very new to VIYA programming and am trying to import a CSV file from my desktop into my CAS library so that I can manipulate it in SAS VIYA studio and then push it to SAS VIYA Visual Analytics. I know how to import it through Visual Analytics for use in Studio, but not the other way around.

At the moment, the only way I can figure out how to do this is to import a file manually using Explorer > Upload file.

However, this places the CSV in Explorer > SAS Content (rather than > Libraries), so I then have to use PROC IMPORT to import it from SAS Content into my CAS session and then use PROC CASUTIL to promote it for use throughout VIYA.

Also, I cannot for the life of me get Studio to recognise file paths, so have to manually point-and-click to create a file reference to do the PROC IMPORT. I've tried searching for help, but everything I have found so far seems to discuss how to move things from the libraries section into CAS, but everything I import is first stuck in SAS Content.

I'm sure it's something very obvious for someone in the know, but can anyone point me in the right direction or am I doomed forever?

I've included my hack job of the code below in case it helps. Thanks in advance!

/*MANUAL ACTION - need to create a file reference 'testing' by right-clicking on the file because can't seem to find the right file path*/

/** Import the CSV file from SAS content into the public cas session.  **
PROC IMPORT DATAFILE=TESTING
		    OUT=pubcas.MYCSV
		    DBMS=CSV
		    REPLACE;
RUN;

/** Unassign the file reference.  **/

FILENAME testing;

/** Print the results. **/

PROC PRINT DATA=pubcas.MYCSV; 
RUN;

/*IT SUPPORT Q - Why can it print the table but I can't open it and see it through drag and drop?*/