BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
arkam
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to DS2. I am trying to convert string "10/31/2011 1:34:00 PM", passed through "time" variable, to SAS date value to be used in SAS ESP.

However when I run it in ESP I get the error below

"load project failed: tradesDemo, the input function requires 0 parameter(s)"

ds2_options cdump;
data esp.out;
dcl timestamp datetime;
method run();
set esp.in;
datetime = input(time, mmddyy10.);
format datetime mmddyy10.;
end;
enddata;

4 REPLIES 4
ballardw
Super User

@arkam wrote:

I am new to DS2. I am trying to convert string "10/31/2011 1:34:00 PM", passed through "time" variable, to SAS date value to be used in SAS ESP.

However when I run it in ESP I get the error below

"load project failed: tradesDemo, the input function requires 0 parameter(s)"

ds2_options cdump;
data esp.out;
dcl timestamp datetime;
method run();
set esp.in;
datetime = input(time, mmddyy10.);
format datetime mmddyy10.;
end;
enddata;

If you do not attempt any operation on the variable time what type is the resulting variable and what format does it have? Not what it looks like in the source data system but as reported by SAS tools on the result data set.

In general the INPUT function takes a character value. If time is actually numeric then that is one possible problem.

I will also say that apparently wanting only the date part of value but calling it "datetime" is likely to be a source of confusion in the future.

arkam
Calcite | Level 5

It is type string and this is the format which is displayed in SAS stream viewer

10/31/2011 13:34

I want both the date and the time to aggregate on.

ballardw
Super User

@arkam wrote:

It is type string and this is the format which is displayed in SAS stream viewer

10/31/2011 13:34

I want both the date and the time to aggregate on.

I don't have a lot of experience with DS2 and no data sources to actually connect to but from the documentation:

How to Specify Informats in DS2