BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
marcuswong
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi Everyone,

I am new to statistic and I have a question in my mind.

When I saw some data and statistics published by news, researchers or universities, could I write back to ask them further for example how the data was collected, the sample frame, sample size, etc.?

5 REPLIES 5
sbxkoenk
SAS Super FREQ

Hello,

Of course you can.

All papers from researchers / universities have a Corresponding Author.
The point of the corresponding author is who to contact if you want to correspond about the paper.

If it's press, you just find contact details on their website.

Cheers,

Koen

ballardw
Super User

You can ask but TV News is not very likely to go into details.

Depending on the site, web-sites are hit-or-miss whether you get any response or usable information.

Many "sources" won't even share the actual questions they asked.

marcuswong
Fluorite | Level 6

@sbxkoenk  @ballardw  are you familiar with panel?

I have a university in my country that uses panel for their research on issues relating to the well-being of ageing populations and majority of survey are done online.

I am wondering if survey is done online, is there a video camera to ensure the survey is actually done by the participant?

Also, for participants who have successfully completed the previous month's survey, vouchers (award) for these completions are given.

I am curious about this methodology whether awarding will leads to response bias?

Thanks!

sbxkoenk
SAS Super FREQ

Hello @marcuswong ,

Initially I thought you were talking about regression with panel data (panel data = time series cross-sectional data). Panel data regression can be done with PROC PANEL, PROC CPANEL, PROC GLIMMIX, PROC TSCSREG and a couple of other procedures.

But you speak of a panel of persons in an online survey research.