BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
five
Obsidian | Level 7

This process was a bit ugly for me, so I thought I would share the steps I used to get this connection setup and working. Along with the source where relevant, when I had a bit of help. These are really my personal notes, just thought I would share with the general public.

Caveat: this may not be the best method or best practice. It was literally achieved via reading the manual and google searches against error messages, until they went away and I could see my data. I am a competent Windows SysAdmin that has been forced to wear a Linux Admin hat just for SAS, thrashing teeth and screaming, free of charge.

General OS Instructions and Info:

Info

We are running SAS 9.4 M5, in a mult-tiered environment across 7 SAS servers that are running Oracle 6.8.

Instructions

1) Downloaded oracle ODBC installers and tools from here: (LINK to a decent writeup using SAS Viya with Oracle)

$ cd ~
$ rpm -ivh oracle-instantclient12.2-basic-12.2.0.1.0-1.x86_64.rpm  
$ rpm -ivh oracle-instantclient12.2-sqlplus-12.2.0.1.0-1.x86_64.rpm

2) Now, add this path to the system library list. Create and edit a new file: (LINK)

$ sudo nano /etc/ld.so.conf.d/oracle.conf

CONTENT:
/usr/lib/oracle/12.2/client64/lib/

Now run the dynamic linker run-time bindings utility:

$ sudo ldconfig

3) Next we need to make the path info persistent: (LINK)

You should already have all needed variables in /etc/profile.d/oracle.sh. Make sure you source it:

$ sudo nano /etc/profile.d/oracle.sh

CONTENT:
ORACLE_HOME=/usr/lib/oracle/12.2/client64
PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/bin:$PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/lib
export ORACLE_HOME
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export PATH

$ source /etc/profile.d/oracle.sh

4) Create the tnsnames.ora file:

(Provided by the oracle db admin)

$ sudo nano /etc/tnsnames.ora

CONTENT: myhost = (DESCRIPTION = (ADDRESS_LIST = (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = myhost.edu)(PORT = 1521)) ) (CONNECT_DATA = (SERVICE_NAME = myhost) ) )