BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
zennigan
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I'm very new to SAS 9.4 setup. Anyone can point me to information how I can know more on the SAS Web Server Security Configuration and Setup? Thanks!

What I know is the server is based on Pivotal WS. How should I proceed with Server Hardedning in this case.

Regards,
Nelson

8 REPLIES 8
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

AFAIK, this Pivotal thing is based on apache, so the principal rules and configuration options should be the same.

FWIW, I have no idea why SAS subjects us customers once again to a change in the middleware. AFAIK jboss/apache is alive and kicking.

You're Microsofting more and more, SAS!

Timmy2383
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
In 9.4 you can configure HTTPS for the web server with the deployment wizard during installation and configuration. Its recommended you set up SSL with the deployment wizard so that the SSL configuration with be retained if and when you implement a maintenance release (if you configure manually on the backend the configuration would be reverted during an upgrade).

As Kurt said, though, most techniques for hardening Apache would apply here.

Check this out: http://www.tecmint.com/apache-security-tips/

The web server config files you're looking for are usually here: <sasconfig>/Lev1/Web/WebServer/conf and <sasconfig>/Lev1/Web/WebServer/conf/extra

PaulHomes
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

I would suggest you start out with the Checklist for a More Secure Deployment section of the SAS 9.4 Intelligence Platform: Security Administration Guide, Second Edition. That will direct you off to other SAS documents for more information on those items you decide to implement. Hardening the web server is just one aspect of maintaining a secure SAS platform so that checklist will get you thinking about some of the other aspects too.