BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
ktkv5
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi,

I am new to SAS adn I would like to know how a user can change his initial password without the intervention of the SAS Administrator. If the admin has set an initial password, say 'HiWorld123' and if I would like to change it, then how can I do that?

What steps do I need to take to ensure that my login credentials are refreshed properly

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Timmy2383
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Do you have the option of setting up PAM authentication so that it's passed on to LDAP or Active Directory?

That's how I've always done it. This way you can bypass having to deal with /etc/passwd maintenance.

Have users set up in LDAP and given a home directory (in my company I have to work with Unix Admins and Unix Security teams to get this done).  Configure PAM module according to SAS documentation (on the compute/app tier server).

Start around page 10:  http://support.sas.com/documentation/installcenter/en/ikfdtnunxcg/66380/PDF/default/config.pdf

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
Reeza
Super User

That's going to depend on your set up quite a bit. In my old work place we logged into the server via Unix and changed our password using passwd.  Then we also had to use SAS Profile Manager to change our password. 

ktkv5
Obsidian | Level 7

In our environment, users only have AD profile and they don't have Unix profile. SAS in installed on unix and accessed through windows clients. So they don't have an option to change their unix password. 

LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

When you say profile, I'm thinking of the fat SAS clients profiles. There each user has full access and can change passwords whenever they like.