BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Ololade
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello Everyone,

I am new to SAS 9.4 and I am having issues with AUTHDOMAIN.

Can anyone point me to where authdomain credentials(username and password) are stored or written on SAS Metadata.

I keep getting the error "credentials could not be obtained from sas metadata server".

This error is specific to kcauthdomain,segkcauthdomain and coreauthdomain.

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaulHomes
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

I would ask how is the SAS process that uses that autoexec being started and which operating system identity (and SAS metadata identity) is launching it? Is it a metadata aware client application (like SAS Enterprise Guide) or a simple batch or DMS SAS process?

The authdomain= option on the libname statement is used to look up any available credentials in that auth domain for the current SAS metadata identity. Your autoexec is using macro variables for them so are you sure the macro variables are being resolved (look in the SAS log). The libname statement authdomain option searches for logins for that auth domain through the identity hierarchy for the current SAS metadata identity: the user, the users direct groups, the users indirect groups, and the implicit groups.  Often for database connections the credentials are stored in a group and the user is made a member of the group so that they have access to the shared credentials.

I would suggest you look through the groups to see if any have logins for those authentication domains and see if the user that is launching the SAS process is a member of those groups.

If you can post the SAS log (suitable sanitized) it would make things easier.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
PaulHomes
Rhodochrosite | Level 12