BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Nebulus
Calcite | Level 5

Due to the assumptions of GLMMs I know that data transformations to meet normality ect. aren't necessary. I couldn't find an answer regarding if performing variance stabilizing transformations are inappropriate however.

I'm using PROC GLIMMIX for insect count data to look at the effects of Climate and Season on  counts. I sampled counts on leaves (leaf area used as an offset) over the course of 26 (2 weeks apart) sample intervals. Intervals are categorized as three separate seasons based on mean temperatures. Different sites are used as replicates of Climate type. Sample intervals are a repeated measure. Parasitism rates from the previous interval was used as a covariate for observed host densities in current interval.

My code looks something like this (Let me know if you see an issue here as well I'm new to GLMM and the syntax was difficult).

proc glimmix data=final;
class site interval season climate;
model counts = interval(season) season climate previous_para / offset=leafarea  dist=poi link=log s;
random intercept / subject=site;
random interval / subject=climate residual; /* Using this line and the next partitions variability between interval and sites*/
random site(interval) / subject=climate residual;
random _residual_ /* Corrects observed overdispersion*/;
lsmeans season climate  / cl pdiff plot=meanplot adjust=tukey;
run;

Using the untransformed data my model fit looks like this.

SAS Output

Fit Statistics
-2 Res Log Pseudo-Likelihood 481.96
Pseudo-AIC 487.96
Pseudo-AICC 488.13
Pseudo-BIC 481.96
Pseudo-CAIC 484.96
Pseudo-HQIC 481.96
Generalized Chi-Square 4454.47
Gener. Chi-Square / DF 31.15

Square root transforming I get these fit statistics. The Pearsons/df looks much better.

-2 Res Log Pseudo-Likelihood 362.94
Pseudo-AIC 368.94
Pseudo-AICC 369.11
Pseudo-BIC 362.94
Pseudo-CAIC 365.94