BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
kennyA
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I am new to SAS and I need some help here 🙂

Below is the question:

"sas111.PNG

sas11.PNG

Write a SAS program that reads each record of SalesRecords.txt into a SAS data set named Sales_Total. Sales_Total must be in the following form:

• It contains only one observation for each salesperson.
  • Each observation contains only the following variables in this order: the salesperson’s name, the salesperson’s latest sales date, the number of days between the salesperson’s latest sales date and the 30th of September 2018, the salesperson’s total sales, and the running total of sales for all salespersons.

You are allowed to include only one DATA step in your SAS program. Keep in mind that some salespersons in the raw data file may have only 1 record, and the records of the same salespersons are not sorted in the order of date. The first few observations of Sales_Total are displayed below:

sas1111.PNG

The labels shown in the above Sales_Total are for reference only. You don’t need to define them in your SAS DATA step program. You may name the variables in any way you want as long as they are valid SAS variable names."

So far I am only able to do the following. I do not know how to output the last part (last photo), such as combining the total sales and the latest sales date, etc..

data Sales_Total;

infile 'c:\temp\SalesRecords.txt’;

input salesname & $1-15 salesdate date11. 16-26 salesamt 28-32;

Thanks a lot 🙂

15 REPLIES 15
VDD
Ammonite | Level 13 VDD
Ammonite | Level 13

Smiley LOL  chasing managers bits and pieces leads to confusion.  Please ask everything in one post.  Time wasted is never retrievable but data is.  Robot Mad  

kennyA
Calcite | Level 5
sorry 😞
I didnt notice it but I think my post is clearer in terms of the requirements
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20