BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed

You can have your container, and eat it too!

Started ‎11-02-2018 by
Modified ‎11-02-2018 by
Views 3,031

In your day job, how often do you to have to type the following words:

docker run <something>

I’m a relative newbie when it comes to Docker but I think that even as a newbie, there are some lessons to be shared. There are aspects of containers that are so important, and yet not so difficult to grasp, that I hope this post about SAS Viya and Containers will be useful to you, and allow me to share some of my early thoughts and insights.

Before posting this here, I did share this content with some of my colleagues who are much more knowledgeable about containers than I am. And aside from rolling their eyes at my analogies and over-simplifications, their feedback was positive.

So, here are 5 simple things you should understand about containers.

1. Containers are not magic
  2. Containers are not just a delivery model
  3. Containers, like cakes, have layers
  4. Containers, like cakes, can be homemade or store-bought
  5. Containers, unlike cakes, can be cloned quickly and infinitely

I will develop these points and the ways they relate to Viya.

Containers are not magictophat.png

I know, everyone likes magic. But behind a well-executed trick, there is often a lot work, preparation, and a little sleight of hand.

In fact, while attending a beginner class on Docker and Kubernetes, I was surprised to learn that containers are not new, and that Docker essentially found a way to pull multiple technologies together into an elegant solution that has now become the standard way of doing containers.
But, if your application is bad, putting it inside a container will not make it better.
If your app does not scale, or if your app is stateful, putting it inside a container, although possible, might just make it behave even worse.