BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Haris
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

I am trying to program correct marginal Predicted Probabilities (PP) from a multi-level logistic regression output.  Pavlou (2015)  has a formula attributed to Skrondal  (2009) where row-level PPs need to be integrated over the distribution of random effects:

Haris_0-1694700282220.png

Expression in the square brackets -- except for 'u' -- is marginal linear predictor.  Random effect (RI) gets added to that expression and the whole thing gets translated into PP.  That entity, then, is integrated over the distribution of random effects with the mean of zero and standard deviation being the variance of the random effecs from the model inquestion.

I am a novice IML programmer and, for the life of me, can't figure out how to program this in SAS.  My variances of RIs range from 0.1 to 0.5 and I don't  even know where to put that in the QUAD() funcion.  The best shot is below.  Any advice is appreciated. 

Would averaging PP over all sample RIs be close enough to the integration approach?  I am working with anywhere from 150 to over 1,000 random units.

proc IML;
	start IntRI(RI);
	  PP = 0.1;
	  lgt = log(PP/(1-PP));
	  return( (1 + exp(-(lgt+RI)))**-1 );
	finish;

call quad(iPP, "IntRI", {.M,.P});
	print iPP;
quit;
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

I don't understand the formula in terms of the random effects model. It looks like it is for a single random effect, but you keep referring to random effects (plural).