BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
grande44
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all! SAS noob here. I have a dataset with thousands of observations. There are quite a few variables, e.g. Group, Subgroup, Title. There is one variable called the "Code". I have a list of about 1000 codes that I want to include in the dataset. I would like to create a new dataset in which all the "undesirable" observations (e.g. the observations whose codes are NOT on my list) are deleted. How can I go about this?

Thank you so much! Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

A simple SQL query will do that

proc sql;

create table validData as

select * from myData

where Code in (select Code from myCodes);

quit;

PG

PG

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

A simple SQL query will do that

proc sql;

create table validData as

select * from myData

where Code in (select Code from myCodes);

quit;

PG

PG
grande44
Calcite | Level 5

Hello! Thanks so much for replying. This is what the SAS log says when I run your proc sql code:

6852  proc sql;

6853  create table validData as

6854  select * from LIBRARY.NOCTRY4

6855  where CODE in (select CODE from NOC75);

NOTE: Table WORK.VALIDDATA created, with 1614 rows and 13 columns.

6856  quit;

NOTE: PROCEDURE SQL used (Total process time):

real time           0.04 seconds

cpu time            0.03 seconds

The only problem is that the dataset NOC75 (which is the list of codes I want to include) has only 1106 observations, but the new table "validData" has 1614 observations. The original data set, NOCTRY4, has 1666 observations, so I can infer that not all of the undesirable NOCs were not deleted.

sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10