BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ram320
Calcite | Level 5

Dear community,

I am a PhD student. I am doing some experiment of chemical sensitivity on fungi and I have some data I require to have some help from the community. 

I have 6 concentration with 1 control for each isolate of fungi and the concentration is {0.000(is control), 0.001, 0.01, 0.10, 1, 10}

kindly find attached data below.

Thank you

Warm regards

Ram Kumar

8 REPLIES 8
ballardw
Super User

For those of us that are not PHD's or candidates in your field, what is the process for calculating EC50?

From the values you show I suspect we would use some form of regression involving logs to get parameters for a general equation and the plug the result into the formula plus some algebra (maybe). But that is a guess purely because you show "concentration" values that are exponents of 10.

StatDave
SAS Super FREQ

The EC50 statistic (also known as the ED50 or LD50) is typically applied to assay data in which the response is binary (such as died or survived). This statistic is an estimate of the predictor (typically, dose of a drug or chemical) that causes the event (such as death) 50% of the time. In this context, the EC50 can be estimated by fitting a model in PROC PROBIT using the INVERSECL option as shown in the list of Frequently Asked-for Statistics which can be accessed from the Important Links on this Communities front page. In this case, you could consider using the maximum growth as the denominator (number of trials) variable and the observed growth as the numerator variable, then fit the model to the proportion thus defined. However, I would be skeptical of any tests or confidence intervals from such an analysis since your growth values are not actually counts and the standard errors from the analysis could be made arbitrarily small by multiplying the values by any constant.

ram320
Calcite | Level 5
Hello,
I am a beginner for SAS programing.