BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
anil
Calcite | Level 5
All,

I have observed that SAS programmers in clinical trials (Phase II-IV) prefer UNIX to EG and SAS 9.1.3.

I request experts to elaborate the advantages of it.

Curious,

Anil
5 REPLIES 5
Calcite | Level 5
I'm not an expert, but I'll start things off anyway.

Unix is an operating system while EG and 9.1.3 are SAS software products. SAS runs on Windows or Unix (or other platforms) so if you want to use SAS and you want to use the Unix operating system, then you buy and install a Unix version of SAS v9.1.3.

The issue may be more about a preference to write custom scripts rather than use EG. This may be in part because of the very structured formatting of the tables and listings for clinical trials. I haven't used EG, but I think I know enough about it that I wouldn't ignore this product for getting you through 75% of the required programming.

The issue may also be about comfort level. I've done some SAS programming for clinical trials and have used SAS 9.1.3 on Windows without any resistance or complaints. The preference for Unix may also be related to the OS on which the programmers 'grew up'. There are some benefits to using an OS that 1) programmers are comfortable with and 2) may be more compatible with other data sources or software products.
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
To follow-up on 1162's comments.

If you are working in an FDA regulated environment, then it is marginally easier to validate things once in a more controlled environment than to have to lock-down all the PCs.

Enterprise Guide will run all the sorts of structured code that our shop has and has the addition of a natural interface for documentation and ordering analyses. It doesn't do as well of allowing multiple users to work simultaneously on the same project (maybe in 4.2).