BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I am new to SAS and running into a road block concerning Cumulative Incidence. In a nutshell I have a data set for cancer patient that recived trasplant. We are looking for engraftment data but need to control for those that failed to engraft by a certain day due to death. The data set I am using is censored on the following:

Fields being used are:
ANC500 (Days from Transplant to Engraftment)
ANC_Censor (Did they Engraft)
CensDth (Did they Die)
Cens_ANC28 (Did they die by day28)

Censor Fields:

ANC_Censor (1=Yes 0=No)

On those that did not engraft (0):
Dead Yes = 1
Dead No = 0

On those that are Dead (1)
Death LTE 28 Days = 1
Death GT 28 Days = 0

I am trying to use Phreg but not sure what to put after the = sign in:

Model anc500*Cens_ANC500(0) = ??

The time on this is days from Transplant to Engraftment, and I need to censor on those that did not engraft by 28 days becasue they died in that time period.

I hope that makes sense. Help is GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks in Advance
1 REPLY 1
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
First, you've got a set-up problem on the left.

With PHREG, the first variable is the days until something happened. The second variable is whether what happened was a censoring event or a real event. So your ANC500 needs to be restructured to combine the dates to engraftment with days to death and days to last follow-up (or declaration of failure to engraft). Then your Cens_ANC500 can have multiple codes representing the different conditions at the end.

Because you have (at least) three endpoints, you have a competing risks situation and need to either do a multiple event model or a sensitivity analysis (combining different event types).