BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SASFanTodd
Calcite | Level 5

Hello All,

I'm very new to SAS (started training in E.G.5.1 today) and this may be putting the cart before the horse but I need to ask anyway.  I have the need to import .txt files which are healthcare claims 837p/x12 formated files.  Within each file, segments/records are broken up by a "~".  However, when I try to import the file delimiting the file by the "~" using EG, it tells me I cannot.  Here is just a little more detail using an example.  An 837/x12 file is basically 1 long string/record of data containing segments/records which can be delimeted by a "~" (in most cases) and looks something like this "ISA*00*          *00*        xxxxxxxxxx~GS*xxx    xxxxxx      xxxxxxxxxxxxx           xxx~ST*      xxxxxx~BHT*xxxxx     *xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx  xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx~........and so on..............~IEA*xxxxxxxxxxx~" with each file beginning with an ISA segment/record and ending with an IEA segment/record.

As you can see, each segment/record is very different and contains different types of data with segments/records of different lengths which needs to be parsed out base on how the segment begins (i.e. ISA, GS, ST, etc).  I only know enough SQL to be dangerous but was able to load the files in SQL by having a table with 1 field/column/variable lets say 1000 characters long.  My load package had each column delimited by the ~ and worked just fine with 1 record per input segment/record.  Currently, we do not have SQL connected to SAS and my company would like to avoid that if possible however we may not be able to if SAS cannot load this directly.  As I stated earlier, we are brand new to SAS and this is my first attempt at this.  We knew this may be a sticky spot so wanted to try to solve this issue as soon as possible.