BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
learn2learn
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

I am very new to SAS . Looking to see the number of patients that have taken a medication only once for between 1-5 days and for what treatment and compare it with the 1995/96 data. The script below is for 2015/16 data.

%_eg_conditional_dropds(WORK."%STR(1516)"n);

PROC SQL;
CREATE TABLE WORK.'1516'n AS
SELECT t1.FYEAR,
t1.DOB,
t1.MEDICATION,
t1.TREATMENT
t1.SEX,
t1.ID,
t1.STARTDATE,
t1.ENDDATE

FROM DRUGDATA.YEAR1516 t1 where MEDICATION=1;
QUIT;

PROC SQL;
create table MED1516
as select t1.DOB,
t1.MEDICATION,
t1.TREATMENT
t1.SEX,
t1.ID,
t1.STARTDATE,
t1.ENDDATE,
ENDDATE-STARTDATE AS amtdaysonmed

FROM DRUGDATA.YEAR1516 t1 where MEDICATION=1;
QUIT;

I have three questions.

1. Is there a way to combine the two steps and still create MED1516?.
2. When I tried to add amtdaysonmed <6 (FROM DRUGDATA.YEAR1516 t1 where MEDICATION=1 and amtdaysonmed <6) it said it couldn't find amtdaysonmed. ERROR: The following columns were not found in the contributing tables: amtdaysonmed. But I can see amtdaysonmed when I checked on output Data.I have tried to do another PROC SQL and add amtdaysonmed but it doesn't work either

3. Is there a way to sort the data by the treatments the drugs are used for?

Thank you for your time

2 REPLIES 2
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

A good start to learning would be to learn the language itself - this is Base SAS.  SQL can be used in a procedure, however it really only has usefulness if you are a) connecting to a database, or b) have some specific join.  

Secondly, starting with macro and macro variables will not teach you anything other than bad coding techniques.

Thirdly, code formatting is far more important than what the code does.  If a user can't read it then its useless.