BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
vijay2583
Calcite | Level 5

Hello All,

I have a requirement to extract the data from sqlserver 2005 database into SAS Datasets. Iam new to SAS Dataset formats.

I studied that for a SAS Dataset there will be two files

1) .DAT File which contains the data

2)  .SAS File which contains the control structure.

Now my query is do we have to generate both files or .DAT file is enough?

Does any one have idea of generating those files. Iam using C#.Net for extraction.

Please point me to any resources regarding this.

Thank you Very much for your time.

Thanks,

Vijay

7 REPLIES 7
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

SAS can read SQL/Server databases directly, so there is no need for the external program.

The way you are describing would generate some sort of text file and the SAS code for reading it.  Unless you put a lot of effort into generating the SAS code, you are going to lose a lot of the metadata from SQL/Server.  Technically, you don't "need" the SAS code.  However, if you don't you will need other documentation for the .DAT file and you will have unhappy users.

Doc Muhlbaier

Duke

vijay2583
Calcite | Level 5

Hello Doc Muhibaier,

Thank you for your response.

Althogh SAS can read SQL/Server databases directly it willn't work for us.

We can't provide access to SQL Server database for the SAS Team. They are of different consultants. The only option we have is to provide the data in SAS Datasets.

Now my issue is how to generate SAS Datasets using C# programming.

Thanks,

VIjay

PGStats
Opal | Level 21

What are you trying to do? Use a C# program to create a SAS dataset? Get SAS to analyze some data for your C# program? Something else?

PG

PG
vijay2583
Calcite | Level 5

HI PG,

We are trying to create a SAS dataset using C# program. Is there any suggestions on this?

Thanks,

VIjay

vijay2583
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Ksharp,