BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
IgawaKei29
Quartz | Level 8
I was really curious, I am new to the SAS programming, but an idea came to mind, and I wanted to see if it was possible to implement. I wanted to be able to set up a timer using SAS, or another program that works with SAS to submit batch jobs to sas when I am not at the computer. For example, I write 2 - 3 programs, and I know I am going to be gone for a week, I would do the following:

*Monday April 9, 2007 at 8:00am* What I would want to happen would be: SAS would take the file from the path I supplied and then run the batch file during that time.

I am no way an expert with SAS, but I do have a lot of ideas, I was just curious if this was even possible to do.

Thanks
3 REPLIES 3
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
Perhaps this info from Tech Support will get you started with what you want to do:
VSE:
http://support.sas.com/faq/005/FAQ00560.html

Windows:
http://support.sas.com/techsup/technote/ts648/ts648.pdf
http://support.sas.com/techsup/unotes/SN/007/007769.html

If you need more help, you should consider contacting Tech Support, because they can find out your exact operating system configuration and SAS setup and help you with the correct method for doing batch submits. To find out how to contact Tech Support, refer to:
http://support.sas.com/techsup/contact/index.html

Good luck!
cynthia
John_d_WiseGuy
Fluorite | Level 6
Yes, what you want to do is quite simple, but the technique is operating system dependent, as Cynthia pointed out. I don't think you are using VSE (heh!) so I am going to assume that you are running on Windows XP.

Just write your SAS code in a text file and save as foo.sas. Then run it one time from a windows command prompt. Start -> Run -> cmd.exe

> "C:\Program Files\sas\SAS 9.1\sas.exe" c:\projects\stuff\foo.sas