BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Quentin
Super User

Over the years I've seen a few pitches from Electronic Data Capture / Clinical Trial Management Systems, both cloud and non-cloud, so things like Medidata Rave, Orale InForm, Medrio, DataTrak, etc etc etc.

Usually the one question I ask is "As a SAS programmer, I would like to be able to connect to the database via ODBC or whatever and to pull data.  Can I do that?"    And typically the answer is "It's easy to get data from our application to SAS, just click this button on our export menu and then you can download a: SAS transport file | csv and .sas file for reading into SAS | whatever. "

But I don't want a data extract, and I definitely don't want to have to press a button and download a file every time I want to see data from SAS.  I want to be able to pull data from the database.  Not just Case Report Form data, but also trial metadata.  Sometimes the response is that the database structure is intellectual property.  Of course I don't really need the full database ERD for whatever spectacular design has been developed.  If they made standard views to allow easy access to data, that would be fine (and actually helpful).  Sometimes they say that because the database / server is a shared resource, they can't give users direct access (could the security model be that bad?).

So here's a bunch of questions for folks using EDC systems (closed commercial solutions, or even open-source or in-house solutions):

1.  Are SAS programmers able to connect to the EDC/CTMS database and pull data when they need it?

2.  If not, do you have an automated solution for extracting data out of the database and putting it somewhere SAS programmers can see it?

3.  If not, do you have a manual approach for transferring data?