BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
samchat
Calcite | Level 5

Hello, I am a newbie here and needed your help. Can anyone please let me know the difference between "intent to treat" (itt) and safety populations?

I was in the process of flagging some data which I was working on, and got stuck not knowing the difference.

Thanks for your help.

-Sam

7 REPLIES 7
michael90
Calcite | Level 5

it is not defined somewhere? i think the itt may be larger, the safety are those people from which safety measurements are known like vital signs etc, thus actually treated. itt may contain drop-outs, or may be smaller than safety when it is decided that some primary objectives are relevant for a subgroup.

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Hi,

This is not really a SAS specific discussion.  It should be defined in your specs/protocol somewhere what these are.  As for actual definitions - Wikipedia:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intention_to_treat_analysis

So ITT is those randomized based on randomized treatment not what they were actually given.

Safety is all randomized with any treatment.

Again, might be slightly different depending on your specs.

Jagadishkatam
Amethyst | Level 16

to add some more definition

ITT:

Includes all randomized patients in the groups to which they were randomly assigned, regardless of their adherence with the entry criteria, regardless of the treatment they actually received,

and regardless of subsequent withdrawal from treatment or deviation from the protocol. it simply means that any subject who is randomized is considered in ITT, even if the subject is not 100% compliant with the study, withdrew from study. So if the subject is once randomized is still considered for analysis.

Safety:

subjects randomized and who took atleast one dose of study medication are considered as safety population.

Thanks,

Jag

Thanks,
Jag
samchat
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you Jag!!

H
Pyrite | Level 9 H
Pyrite | Level 9

See: