BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
BTAinRVA
Quartz | Level 8

I'm rather new to the healthcare field and we are working on pediatric appendicitis outcomes. In the literature it is known that the racial/ethnic disparities in pediatric appendicitis outcomes are large. Unfortunately our database does not have reliable data on Race/Ethnicity. If we don't adjust for Race/Ethnicity, will our estimates for all other variables be highly suspect? Should we even move forward with the study?

Thanks,

Brian

7 REPLIES 7
Reeza
Super User

Your (All) study will have limitations - these are big ones. 

Is the data you're able to produce of value to others - for other research or for comparison even within your area?

BTAinRVA
Quartz | Level 8

Reeza,

Thanks for the quick reply. I'm just wondering if it's worthwhile to pursue this study further given that we can't adjust for race/ethnicity, knowing that it most likely a significant factor.

Reeza
Super User

Here's the thing - when you adjust for race - it means you account for the fact that race plays an impact - but it shouldn't. So doing analysis and learning where to target treatments, without race being a factor isn't wrong. If this is solely an academic exercise, then it may not be worth it. If you're trying to implement changes in your facility that's a different question.  

ballardw
Super User

Depending on which analysis is being performed "adjusted" often means summaries by race: i.e. summarize a factor for each level of the race variable.

You might provide a little more information about what you consider unreliable. Is the data not collected at all, collected occassionally or most of the time? If you are only missing 5% of records it likely is as good as many other data sources. Or do you have clients that somehow have different race or ethnicity recorded at different times? (Don't laugh, that is one the data quality checks I run on a routine basis and see a problem with about 2% of records from on data source.)