BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ncsthbell
Quartz | Level 8

I have a report that I am trying to sort the detail by a date column in ascending order.  The date is showing as a 'measure' coming from the information map.  I created the SAS datasets in EG 4.2 and passed into the Information map that feeds this report. The date shows as a data type of 'date' in the table.   I am doing a right click on the column name header on the report for this date solumn and selecting to sort ascending.  The data seems to be ordering in a character format rather than date format.  I am pretty new to SAS, so I am sure I am just missing something!!

Example of my data:

03/31/2006

03/31/2007

06/30/2006

06/30/2007

09/30/2006

09/30/2007

Need to have sorted as follows:

03/31/2006

06/30/2006

09/30/2006

03/31/2007

06/30/2007

09/30/2007

Thanks for any assistance with this problem!!

4 REPLIES 4
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

I know nothing about Web Report Studio, but if you are using PROC REPORT then it has a "friendly" feature of sorting even numeric variables by the character string used to display then unless you tell it otherwise by using ORDER=INTERNAL option in addtion to the ORDER option.

define mydate / order order=internal;

twocanbazza
Quartz | Level 8

Have you searched the SAS web for say "WRS Date Sort order"?  There are a couple of SAS Notes, while not exactly the same, may shed som light on your issue.

Barry

art297
Opal | Level 21

I'm not familiar with WRS but, from what you show and the documentation, it appears that you might have identified month as a break variable and it is sorting on dates within months.

sks
Fluorite | Level 6 sks
Fluorite | Level 6

In the information map, you can set the format for the date field. I wonder if the issue is because the date field is showing up as a measure, can you change it to a category and see if data is sorted correctly.

Shri

sas-innovate-2024.png

Don't miss out on SAS Innovate - Register now for the FREE Livestream!