10-31-2016 12:49 PM
I am trying to update the theme we are using in SAS Visual Analytics(7.1) using SAS Theme Designer. I did not understand the difference between "Save" and "Deploy" option. I know that only themes that are deployed are available for end-users to set them as their preferences. Then what does save do? Just save the theme and place it in memory. Why do we need a seperate deploy option.
11-01-2016 06:11 PM
Thanuja, Deploying a theme makes the most-recently saved version of the theme available to end users. If you modify a custom theme, be sure to save the changes before deploying the theme. Does this answer your question? Shannon
11-07-2016 11:32 AM
Thanks for the reply.
Yes, that answers my question. However, I am curious to know Why do we need to have two separate options of "Save" and "Deploy".Once we save the theme with changes, won't the theme be updated with the changes to the end users. For e.g.,let's take report designer. We design reports and they are available to the end users for viewing. When we make any changes to the reports in the designer, those changes are dynamically updated in the report viewer for the end users. Why isn't the same concept not applied to the themes too?
Thanks in advance