BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Jutur
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am new to SAS VA and not very sure on how to create data for "Geo Maps". After exploring on internet I create below data which I used in creating Geo Maps, but nothing worked out. I am not able to see the map. When contacted SAS support, they asked me to check if the Blade 0 server is having internet connection, when checked it was having access to internet.

Please let me know if there is any configuration that is missing which is causing this problem?

Data for Geo Map.jpg

Thanks,

Srini

5 REPLIES 5
FalkoSchulz
SAS Employee

Hi Srini,

Creating geographical maps in SAS Visual Analytics is pretty straight forward. After loading your data you will need to define a geographical item. SAS VA comes with a set of predefinied geographical lookup values. In your example you could define country as 'Country or Region Names' and REGION_NAME_SAS as 'Subdivision' geo role. If you drag these items to the chart area a geo map should be rendered. By default SAS uses public accessible Open Street Maps but you can also configure alternative ESRI servers if available. And yes, you will need to have internet access configured in order to support geographical maps - sometimes specific proxy or VPN settings could play a role here. SAS Technical Support should be able to help you out here if required.

Hope this helps. Cheers, Falko

sat_lr
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Srini,

I faced similar problems before in having geo map in place. To generate geo map in VA you must consider performing this steps.

make sure you got coordinates (lat & long) for the city in the data source. If yes, then it will only take couple of clicks to produce maps in VA!

If you don't have coordinates, then I would send you SAS geo dataset that contains coordinates in it. All you need to do is to embed that dataset with your source data and produce a new dataset. This approach worked for me.