Exploring, modeling, predicting and reporting with SAS Visual Analytics and SAS Visual Statistics

Migration plan of the SAS VA environment.

Accepted Solution Solved
Contributor
Accepted Solution

Migration plan of the SAS VA environment.

I have one query that,I want to migrate windows VA server to Linux and I want checklist and procedure for that.Please give me detail and simple information as possible cause I am new in Administration(I am sas programmer but I want to know how to migrate ).

If anyone have checklist then please comment below.

Thanks in advance.

Smiley Happy 

Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎01-13-2017 06:01 AM
Super User

Re: Migration plan of the SAS VA environment.

Hi @india2016,

I could give you a quick checklist, and I will, but let me give you first the 9.4 Migration guide http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/bimig/69173/HTML/default/viewer.htm#titlepage.htm

For you to know, there are 2 main wais to migrate: partial promotion (export and import spk packages from the SAS Management Console), or the SAS Migration Utility (SMU). For VA I would recommend the partial promotion because you can remain more in control, and it is not much extra time from SMU.

In short, very short (you should read the document):

- Install SAS VA and validate the installation on Linux.

- Implement integrations with your Active Directory and other systems (as your db drivers/connections, etc).

- Migrate your SAS datasets from Windows to Unix.

- Move your SAS code.

- Ensure permissions are fine on Linux for your code and SAS datasets.

- Migrate metadata security (users, groups, ACTs, etc).Ensure your Outbound access paswwords are filled manually.

- Migrate other things as Auth Domains and deployment folders

- Migrate metadata folders (empty folders)

- Migrate server definitions (your databases, settigs of your SASApps, etc)

- Migrate your meta libraries and ensure they are attached properly to the right connections.

- Test your libraries