BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
AshleyP
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I am new to SAS VA, using v7.1

I am trying to create a report with a hyperlink against each row of data, so that when the hyperlink is clicked it will take the user to a particular web page.

I presume the best way to do this is to right mouse on my column, for example 'Product Name', then select Add Link, External Link. However, I need to add some logic to say something like,

if the 'Product Name' = 'A', then the external hyperlink is https://productA,

if the 'Product Name' = 'B', then the external hyperlink is https://productB,

etc

Do I need to add a 'Link to Stored Process'? If so, how and where do I create a Stored Process?

Or is there a better way to do this?

Thanks.

12 REPLIES 12
RickStyll_SAS
SAS Employee

Ashley,

You are on the right track. When you create an external link, you can include a data driven portion, but the initial part of the URL must by static.  The entire URL can not be data driven in the current and prior releases.  If you have a portion of the URL that is consistent, you can type that in and pass the dynamic portion by choosing a data item from the parameter drop-down list in the Create External Link window. Note that this data item can be a calculated data item that you create in the report. The target for the parameter portion of the parameter is optional, and I suspect you would leave that blank in your case.