BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jwperez
Fluorite | Level 6

How do I convert a character field to numeric so I can use it as a measure instead of a category?  For example, I have a field called GPA which was pulled into the data source as a category (text field) because even though a GPA is a number, some values for some people have "N/A" in them (for not applicable).  That's why it's a text field.  I want to use it as a measure so I can add it to a Visual Analytics report and show averages, standard deviations, etc.  There are functions in VA that can convert a numeric field to text, but I don't see anything that converts from character to numeric.  I can write SQL code with my eyes closed, but I'm fairly new to VA, so I don't know the "tricks" to get around this limitation.  Whatever advice you could give would be greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jwperez
Fluorite | Level 6

WOW, Bruno, this is terrific!  All I had to do was plug my field name into the code and it worked perfectly!  Thanks so much for the quick reply.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
BrunoMueller
SAS Super FREQ

Hi

You can use the Parse operator to convert a string to a number like so:

Parse('number_as_text'n, 'COMMA14.')

Create a new calculated data item and use the expression above

Bruno

jwperez
Fluorite | Level 6

WOW, Bruno, this is terrific!  All I had to do was plug my field name into the code and it worked perfectly!  Thanks so much for the quick reply.

jkovachi
Calcite | Level 5

Where did you plug in your field name?

MichelleHomes
Meteorite | Level 14

For those that use the Parse function and other string manipulations in SAS Visual Analytics, please note that there may be a performance degradation... http://support.sas.com/kb/57/025.html