BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Ujjawal
Quartz | Level 8

I am new to SAS VA. I am trying to create a bar chart showing comparison of two groups. Data for the 2 groups are in separate files (data sources). I want the chart to be displayed as shown below. Since data for the 2 groups are in separate data sources, i am able to create two bar charts but unable to combine them in a single bar chart showing 2 bars for each of the groups.

SAS VA.png

Any help would be highly appreciated. Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4
paulkaefer
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

I'm new, as well, so I'm taking this as a challenge: If you reorganize your data a little, this will give the closest I can get to your picture. The bars are next to each other.

data example;
   infile datalines delimiter=',';
   input turnover $ value group;
   datalines;                      
0-5,45,1
0-5,44,2
5-10,17,1
5-10,20,2
10-15,38,1
10-15,36,2
;

/* general routine:
    http://blogs.sas.com/content/sascom/2011/08/22/how-to-make-a-cluster-grouped-bar-chart-graph-using-sas-sg-procedures/ */
proc sgplot data=example;
  vbar turnover / response=value group=group stat=sum nostatlabel
         groupdisplay=cluster barwidth=0.9 transparency=0;
  xaxis display=(nolabel);
  yaxis grid;
  run;

Otherwise, a different method will get the bars on top of each other. you can play around with barwidth and transparency to see what you like:

data example;
   infile datalines delimiter=',';
   input turnover $ group1 group2;
   datalines;                      
0-5,45,44
5-10,17,20
10-15,38,36
;

/* general routine:
    http://blogs.sas.com/content/sascom/2011/08/22/how-to-make-a-cluster-grouped-bar-chart-graph-using-sas-sg-procedures/ */
proc sgplot data=example;
  vbar turnover / response=group1 stat=sum nostatlabel
         groupdisplay=cluster barwidth=0.5 transparency=0.2;
  vbar turnover / response=group2 stat=sum nostatlabel
         groupdisplay=cluster barwidth=0.7 transparency=0.2;
  xaxis display=(nolabel);
  yaxis grid;
  run;