BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Plikis
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I'm a student in my last year of university, and I'm working on some analysis for my bachelor's thesis.

I'm analyzing a moderately big dataset (20,000 rows for now, but I only have around 1% of the full data set) that includes a variable for item descriptions (e.g. "Cotton short-sleeved t-shirts"), so the question is - does SAS University (basically base SAS and SAS/STAT) have the capability of clustering text in any meaningful way? I'm looking to create a small amount of categories for these items that wouldn't require me figure out how to categorize everything, and then going through each item to assign a category.

If not, is it possible to get my hands on something like SAS Text Miner for free, or should I be looking for a solution elsewhere?

3 REPLIES 3
DarthPathos
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hi and welcome to the community!  I think there's a lot you can do with SAS University Edition - I use it all the time (and, as a bit of self-promotion, even blog every Friday about it - click on my Avatar to see a list :-)).  

Check out one of my posts (here) where I use PROC SQL and what are called "regular expressions" to do basic text analytics on Song Titles.  

Good luck - I love using PROC SQL and SAS University Edition, so please post back any other problems / questions you have!

Chris

Has my article or post helped? Please mark as Solution or Like the article!
DarthPathos
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Update to my previous reply:

I was at a Local User Group yesterday and we were talking about preliminary text analysis; I mentioned SOUNDEX, and the presenter said that COMPGED has much better functionality.  I’ve never used COMPGED, so decided to dig into it and I must admit – I’m a convert!  I wanted to give you updated information so you to can see how cool this is.

I’ve created a dummy data set:

IMAGE10.png