BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ekow_atta
Calcite | Level 5

I am a research student and new to SAS Text Analytics and would like some help with data preparation.I need recommendations on some resources I can use.Thanks

10 REPLIES 10
JuliaM
Calcite | Level 5

Can you tell me what you mean by data preparation?

From my experience, the SAS Text Analytics can only "read" text files. So any PDFs or Word documents for example, will need to be converted to text before the SAS TA will be able to output. Does this answer your question, or was there more to it than that?

ekow_atta
Calcite | Level 5

Do you have experience with SAS OnDemand Enterprise Miner.

art297
Opal | Level 21

Text miner can read numerous types of files including web pages.  The analytics will work better if you can eliminate some of the "noise" but, of course, that isn't always possible.

FionaMcNeill
SAS Employee

Yes Aurthur - absolutely. Just to add a bit, document conversion is included in all the SAS Text Analytics products - to translate from Word, .pdf, etc... to a normalized .txt format.  The Text Import node in Text Miner will crawl web pages, and retrieve documents from any site defined. For Categorization and Sentiment Analysis, web sites and file systems can be crawled and the information retrieved using SAS Informaiton Retrieval Studio - which for crawling is included with Sentiment Analysis, and is an add-on component of the Categorization bundle.

Not knowing what type of data you are dealing with, have you seen this: White Paper | Sifting Through the Noise of Social Media | SAS It provides some data cleansing/quality tips for social media data.

ekow_atta
Calcite | Level 5

I am working with some legal documents for my research and I have not been able to bring them into Enterprise Miner OnDemand Academics. Do you have any material to can suggest read to be able to solve this issue?

JuliaM
Calcite | Level 5