BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
bondtk
Quartz | Level 8

Hi

I am new to SAS and learning SAS.

I am trying to work on thsi example to import this txt file which i created in notepad and its saved as txt file.

when i try to import file it says physical file doesnt exist , please advise.

i have just typed this data in notepad to create this raw data :

RANCH,1250,2,1,Sheppard Avenue,"$64,000"
SPLIT,1190,1,1,Rand Street,"$65,850"
CONDO,1400,2,1.5,Market Street,"80,050"
TWOSTORY,1810,4,3,Garris Street,"$107,250"
RANCH,1500,3,3,Kemble Avenue,"$86,650"
SPLIT,1615,4,3,West Drive,"94,450"
SPLIT,1305,3,1.5,Graham Avenue,"$73,650"

saved this file as location.txt in note pad

now tried to import it :

data location1;
infile 'C:\Users\tauqe\Documents\myfolders\location.txt' ;
input style $ @;
if style = 'CONDO' or style = 'RANCH';
input sqfeet bedrooms baths street $ price : dollar10.;
run;

error message:

ERROR: Physical file does not exist, /opt/sasinside/SASConfig/Lev1/SASApp/C:\Users\tauqe\Documents\myfolders\location.txt.

NOTE: The SAS System stopped processing this step because of errors

please advise.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jklaverstijn
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

An often seen mistake where you confuse the local Windows environment of your pc or laptop with the Linux environment of the server. The SAS server session that your Studio is connected to and that executes the code is not directly aware of the files on your Windows drives. You can use the file upload task or drag and drop in the files tree to move your data from Widows to Linux (or more prcisely: from client to server) to make your code run.

The giveaway here is the filename in the message that has a Linux part (/opt/sasinside/SASConfig/Lev1/SASApp) and a Windows part (C:\Users\tauqe\Documents\myfolders\location.txt).

Hope this helps.

- Jan.

View solution in original post