BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Live
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am a novice in DI Studio (version 4.9) and was hoping someone here will be able to help.

I have a table which I would like to union to itself several times, but each time I will bring back only 4 columns where two are the same, and two contains the same information and should be renamed to be the same, however each time there is a where statement included. In Base SAS, the code looks like this: 

select T1."ACCOUNT_ID"
, T1."STATUS_CODE_1" "STATUS_CODE"
, T1."REASON_CODE_1" "REASON_CODE"
, T1."CLOSE_DATE"
from "Q$MARKREP"."TSYS_CARD_ACCOUNTS_DIM_MARKREP" T1
where not T1."STATUS_CODE_1" is null
union all
select T1."ACCOUNT_ID"
, T1."STATUS_CODE_2" "STATUS_CODE"
, T1."REASON_CODE_2" "REASON_CODE"
, T1."CLOSE_DATE"
where not T1."STATUS_CODE_2" is null
union all
select T1."ACCOUNT_ID"
, T1."STATUS_CODE_3" "STATUS_CODE"
, T1."REASON_CODE_3" "REASON_CODE"
, T1."CLOSE_DATE"
where not T1."STATUS_CODE_3" is null;

(which needs to be repeated 82 times).

I have tried to do this using the join transformation or the Set Operation transformation, but I keep getting stuck when I try to get the table in a second time.

Anyone have a solution to this?

Many Thanks

Live

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
snoopy369
Barite | Level 11

No, it wouldn't necessarily make a wide table.  TRANSPOSE goes either direction.

I am not a DI Studio expert, so I'll show you in SAS code; but i'm fairly sure DI Studio can do this, and if not you can always just do it in code directly.