Write and run SAS programs in your web browser

SAS Studio: Turn off matching parentheses

Accepted Solution Solved
Reply
Contributor
Posts: 26
Accepted Solution

SAS Studio: Turn off matching parentheses

[ Edited ]

Dear SAS Users,

 

The version of SAS Studio that I use was recently upgraded to 3.6 (full details below) and it includes a very annoying 'feature' that automatically generates a close parenthesis every time I type an open parenthesis.  I cannot figure out how to turn it off.  I have already turned off 'hint' and 'autocomplete' (which are also very annoying) but cannot figure out how to remove this feature.  Please advise.

 

Thanks,

Eric

 

 

Release: 3.6 (Basic Edition)

Supported browsers:

  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 11
  • Mozilla Firefox 21+
  • Google Chrome 27+
  • Apple Safari 6.0+ (on Apple OS X)

Build date: Apr 20, 2017 3:45:50 PM
SAS Mid-tier release: Apr 18, 2017 2:38:00 PM
Java Version: 1.7.0_111
SAS release: 9.04.01M4P11092016
SAS platform: Linux LIN X64 2.6.32-696.3.2.el6.x86_64
Site name: ########
Site number: #######

Copyright © 2012-2017, SAS Institute Inc., Cary, NC, USA.


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Wednesday
SAS Employee
Posts: 41

Re: SAS Studio: Turn off matching parentheses

@Reeza @ChrisBrooks

 

Hi, 

 

The following options will be added to a future release of SAS Studio. Users will have the ability to:

 

Turn on/off - Auto-closing of brackets                    

Turn on/off - Highlight matching brackets

 

We realize that this does not help you now, but I just wanted to let you know that it is on the roadmap.

 

Samantha

UI Designer for SAS Studio

View solution in original post


All Replies
Super User
Posts: 18,603

Re: SAS Studio: Turn off matching parentheses

Note that I've modified your post to remove the Site Name/Number from public view.

 

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 330

Re: SAS Studio: Turn off matching parentheses

I'm sorry but I don't think it's possible - if it's any consolation I found it a bit annoying at first but I've got used to it now...

Super User
Posts: 18,603

Re: SAS Studio: Turn off matching parentheses

All the IDE's seem to do it, and not just parentheses, square brackes and quotes as well. It took me a while to realize that once I typed the end parentheses it 'used' that one.  And when editing code it's super annoying because it doesn't always add a parentheses, it sometimes uses one that's there but it isn't correct because you changed it. It does helpfully highlight the matching parentheses so you know that your function/operation is closed. 

Solution
Wednesday
SAS Employee
Posts: 41

Re: SAS Studio: Turn off matching parentheses

@Reeza @ChrisBrooks

 

Hi, 

 

The following options will be added to a future release of SAS Studio. Users will have the ability to:

 

Turn on/off - Auto-closing of brackets                    

Turn on/off - Highlight matching brackets

 

We realize that this does not help you now, but I just wanted to let you know that it is on the roadmap.

 

Samantha

UI Designer for SAS Studio

Contributor
Posts: 26

Re: SAS Studio: Turn off matching parentheses

Thanks a lot for the reply, Samantha, and for listening to SAS Studio users.

-eric
☑ This topic is solved.

Need further help from the community? Please ask a new question.

Discussion stats
  • 5 replies
  • 178 views
  • 2 likes
  • 4 in conversation