BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
nkurek0
Calcite | Level 5

Can someone please let me know what is wrong with my code or advise me on an appropriate website where I can get help?  I am a beginner with SAS and I am taking a SAS programming class.  I am receiving the following error message:

77         INPUT LOCATION $ 1 LENGTH 2;

_____

ERROR 180-322: Statement is not valid or it is used out of proper order.

Here is my code:

%web_drop_table(WORK.IMPORT);

FILENAME REFFILE "/home/nkurek0/my_courses/pgross/mussels.xlsx" TERMSTR=CR;

PROC IMPORT DATAFILE=REFFILE

DBMS=XLSX

OUT=WORK.IMPORT;

GETNAMES=YES;

RUN;

PROC CONTENTS DATA=WORK.IMPORT; RUN;

%web_open_table(WORK.IMPORT);

DATA MUSSELS; SET WORK.IMPORT;  RUN;

INPUT LOCATION $ 1 LENGTH 2; RUN;

PROC PRINT DATA=MUSSELS; RUN;

PROC SORT DATA=MUSSELS; BY LOCATION; RUN;

PROC UNIVARIATE DATA=MUSSELS; By LOCATION; RUN;

PROC ANOVA DATA=MUSSELS;

CLASS LOCATION; MODEL LENGTH = LOCATION; RUN;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Ups. I see it in your code:

DATA MUSSELS; SET WORK.IMPORT;  RUN;

The RUN; terminates the data step, and puts the INPUT statement outside of the context of the data step. This causes the ERROR message.

Omit the first RUN; to make the code syntactically correct.

Your code is still semantically wrong, though.

The INPUT statement is used to read data from external sources. In your step you already have a SAS dataset, so INPUT is not valid here (INPUT requires an INFILE or CARDS statement in the same data step).

I guess you only want to have the variables (columns) location and length present in your data set. For this, you use the KEEP statement.

Regarding programming style: you don't need to go all capitals; code is usually easier to read when capitals are used sparingly, or not at all.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
mohamed_zaki