BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SASHunter
Obsidian | Level 7

I am new to SAS Studio (less than a month now),   What I want to do while viewing a dataset in SAS Studio is what I can do currently in the regular Display Manager.   That is, to open a dataset and the click on 'Data' and then click 'Hide/Unhidle' - send all the variables over to the hidden box and I can view all the variables in alphabetical order.  I can now scan down the list to view the one(s) I want and put them onto the Displayed side.  This helps so much because we can have hundreds of variables in a dataset.

Is there any way to do this same thing in SAS Studio?

Thanks -  Nancy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Vince_SAS
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

This macro may be helpful to you.  It creates a view of the data with the columns alphabetically arranged:

%macro SortColumns(data=sashelp.class);

%local COLUMNS
       LIBRARY
       TABLE;

%*TODO: Add code to enforce valid 2-level name for DATA;

data _null_;
call symputx('LIBRARY', scan("&DATA", 1, '.'));
call symputx('TABLE',   scan("&DATA", 2, '.'));
run;

proc sql noprint;
  select name into: COLUMNS separated by ', '
  from sashelp.vcolumn
  where (libname eq upcase("&LIBRARY") and 
         memname eq upcase("&TABLE")   and 
         memtype eq 'DATA')
  order by upcase(name);

create view work.&TABLE as
  select &COLUMNS
  from &DATA;
quit;

%mend SortColumns;

When you run it from SAS Studio the output is opened in the grid view:

%SORTCOLUMNS(data=sashelp.classfit)

I tried to get this code working within a SAS Studio Task, but limitations in the task model prevented the data from being automatically opened.

Vince DelGobbo

SAS R&D

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
Vince_SAS
Rhodochrosite | Level 12