BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Suzbert
Calcite | Level 5

I inherited a snippet of code written in BASE (see below).  It works fine.  I need to run the code in STUDIO. Of course I'm brand new to the company and to STUDIO.

Here is the code:

PROC IMPORT OUT= WORK.Members
DATAFILE= "\\maskedforsecurity.txt"
DBMS=TAB REPLACE;
GETNAMES=YES;
DATAROW=2;
RUN;

DATA MEMBERS;
SET MEMBERS;
IDMEDICALC = PUT(MEMBERID, 12.);
RUN;

Here is what happened in Studio:

1. I could not get the "proc import out =" statement to work, so I imported manually.

2. The second statement creates a two variable file with no data (Originally, there were 300 some cases and 5 variables)

My questions:

a. what am I doing wrong?

b. where is a good resource that outlines differences in code behavior between Base and Studio?

5 REPLIES 5
Astounding
PROC Star

I can't address the IMPORT problem, but I wouldn't be surprised of SAS Studio can't run PROC IMPORT.

For your second issue, it's likely you forgot the semicolon at the end of the DATA statement.

SASKiwi
PROC Star

In my experience SAS code works identically between Base / EG / SAS Studio assuming that they are all using the same SAS servers with the same set up.

LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20
When claiming that something isn't working - please attach the log!
Data never sleeps
Suzbert
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you.

Understood.

Being new to SASS, these boards, and my job, I debated including the log.

I would need to edit information out because I work for a state govt entity in health care and security policies are excruciatingly strict.

What's the minimum log information required?

s

mkeintz
PROC Star

How about doing a "find/replace" of all the privacy-related filenames and varnames?  Just use consistent, but unique replacement characters consistently throughout the log.