BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
gyambqt
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello,
I am very new to stored process and my questions are below:

1.What is the key difference between stream and transient package output result. I have read through developer's guide about stored process. It said if you create a stored process using stream, the output result will be stored in a temporary file _WEBOUT and stream back to the client like enterprise guide. it seems there is no significant difference comparing with transient package where output returns a temporary package to the client.

2. What is the advantage of using each method (stream vs package)?

3.If I have specified the physical location of the file output to be saved like the following: and if you choose stream output, does it mean instead of saving the output result to the temporary file _WEBOUT, it will save the output result to this location as indicated follow: "c:/a.html" and not stream back to the client (like EG). Does it mean when you run the stored process on stored process server, you won't be able to see the result output on EG.

%STPBEGIN;

ods html file="c:/a.html";

proc print data=a;

run;

ods html close;

%STPEND;

Thank you very much!!!

4 REPLIES 4
boemskats
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hi,