BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

Hi,

I'm just starting to learn about BI solutions and stored processes, and have a basic permissions/security question.  (I know more about SAS than I do about linux, so I may not phrase this correctly).

As I understand it, if a user runs a stored process that runs on the stored process server, they authenticate to the server as SASSRV.

So if I write a stored process that will read in SAS datasets sitting on the server in /users/Quentin/projData,  I need to give SASSRV access to /users/Quentin/projData  (again at the OS level, not the metadata level).

If I give SASSRV access to the data, then I'm deciding to control access to the data through the SAS metadata server.  Fair enough.  So I register the library and data in the metadata and lock down access to only me and my boss who will be running the stored process.

Suppose Joe down the hall gets curious about the data in /Users/Quentin.

If he tries to access it directly, the OS won't let him (because JOE doesn't have the permissions).

If he tried to access the data via:

libname mylib meta library="Quentin data";

the metadata won't let him.

But if he writes a stored procedure that accesses the data with a native libname:

libname mylib library="/users/Quentin/projData";

then he by-passes the meta-data, so he would be able to get to the data (because when he runs the stored process, he will authenticate as SASSRV, not JOE.

Am I understanding this correctly?

(I noticed a few places in the docs where I think it described this sort of scenario.  And at one point I think it even said if you had super-secret data you might create a separate SAS server for those users.  So everyone in HR might log into an HR server, which would then authenticate them as SASSRVHR to the OS, allowing more OS-level control.)

Thanks,

-Q.