BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
anil
Calcite | Level 5
Dear all,
Please help me in understanding these terms.
I feel each company can have their own 'standard (validated ?) macros' for routine use and are not usually shared.
It is rather difficult to write the same program again & again and validate (especially for TFL) it companies have their 'macro macros' which are validated,With minor modification they can be used in normal circumstances.
Thanks
Anil
2 REPLIES 2
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
I think that the term "standard macro" has come to mean something fairly specific in the pharmaceutical/research industries, as described in this paper:
http://www2.sas.com/proceedings/sugi31/018-31.pdf

From my standpoint, as an instructor, I categorize macro programs in much broader strokes -- there are SAS-supplied macro programs (such as
%LOWCASE or %LEFT or %VERIFY -- which are SAS-supplied "autocall" macro programs) and then there are user-written macro programs. Those user-written macro program could be simply assembled into a macro library for re-use OR they could be organized into an "application" or "system" for accomplishing analytical and reporting tasks.

Since the foundation of any SAS macro program is a working SAS program, consider this program:
[pre]
proc contents data=sashelp.shoes;
title "SASHELP.SHOES";
run;

proc print data=sashelp.shoes(obs=10);
title "First 10 obs from SASHELP.SHOES";
run;
[/pre]

Every time I create a file or access a file for the first time, I need to run the above 2 steps in order to document my access. Recoding those two programs over and over quickly becomes tedious and the programmer who knows about macro language will turn to the SAS Macro facility for a solution such as this:
[pre]
%macro doc_it(lib=sashelp, dsn=shoes, obsno=10);
proc contents data=&lib..&dsn;
title "&lib..&dsn";
run;

proc print data=&lib..&dsn(obs=&obsno);
title "First &obsno obs from &lib..&dsn";
run;
%mend doc_it;
[/pre]