BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I am not a SAS programmer, user, or administrator and I know very little about SAS in general (not ideal, but that's how it is right now). I am developing a Java application which needs to connect to a SAS stored process server (pooled from the metadata server), execute a stored process and handle the results. Not a web app, just a plain old command line single method java application. Using the STP web app is not an option, the portal and web layer are not installed. I was hoping the SAS site would have a complete example of doing this, but I wasn't able to find one.

I started with "Connecting with Server Attributes Read from a SAS Metadata Server"
http://support.sas.com/rnd/itech/doc9/dev_guide/dist-obj/javaclnt/javaprog/connfact_omr.html

Instead of specifying the workspace server's logical name login015Logical, I specified the load balanced stored process server's logical name.

I then narrow the object and get a reference to the stored process server instead of the workspace server:
IStoredProcessServer stpServer = IStoredProcessServerHelper.narrow(obj);

I then create the context for the stored process (com.sas.iom.SASStoredProcess.IStoredProcessContext), which seems to take the physical locations, not the logical locations

StringHolder arg0 = new StringHolder();
String[] names = {};
String[] values = {};
String sessionId = "";
String repos = "/var/sasrepo";
String process = "test.sas";
IStoredProcessContext stpContext= stpServer.CreateContext(repos, process,names, values, sessionId);

Following that I execute it with
stpContext.Execute(arg0);

Now, this works, the stored process is executed from what I can tell... using stpContext.GetFormattedSasLog returns the expected log results.