BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
fannavivian
Obsidian | Level 7

I am new to SAS/STAT, and I am wondering what is the difference between PROC LOGISTIC and PROC GLMSELECT? The SAS syntax are very similar: both of them can run logistic regression models, both of them can have specific selection method (FORWARD, BACKWARD, STEPWISE), and both of them can be used to score a new dataset. The only difference I observe now is that PROC GLMSELECT can only be used to score a continuous response variable, while PROC LOGISTIC can be used to score binary response variables (eg: specify the event=1). Am I right on this? Is there any other difference that I should keep an eye on? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

As far as I know, glmselect does not do logistic regression. GLM stands for general linear models which do not include the logistic.

Both procedures offer variable selection, but only glmselect offers advanced effect selection and the LAR and LASSO methods. 

PG

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Reeza
Super User

GLMSELECT works on a larger range of models than Logistic Regression. A model from GLMSELECT does not have to be a LOGISTIC regression. 

I think your last statement is backwards? Logistic works on binary or categorical variables, while GLM can be continuous. The models can be very different. I also believe LOGISTIC will have some more specific features such as AUC & ROC curves but I haven't checked that out. The usual comparison is between GLM or REG and GLMSELECT. 

fannavivian
Obsidian | Level 7
Thanks for your reply! Can you give me an example when PROC GLMSELECT should be used rather than PROC LOGISTIC, or vice versa?
Reeza
Super User

@PGStats Is correct, GLMSELECT doesn't do Logistic Regression. 

Read the Overview for a comparison of the PROCS.