BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
opeyemi123
Calcite | Level 5

Dear all,

I am a beginner on SAS. Was asked to write a SAS program for meta-analysis. Learnt it can be done using Proc mixed. Currently stucked on how to get my forest plot and the tactics to arrive at the final analysis.

please correct me if I'm wrong;

proc mixed data= blood_pressure order=data method=reml;

class trial;

model theta= / cl solution outp=predicted;

random trial / solution gdata=blood_pressure;

repeated diag;

run;

many thanks;

ib.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
lvm
Rhodochrosite | Level 12 lvm
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

I see you are trying the approach originally proposed by Normand (1999), and repeated several places, including in the book Meta-Analysis of Controlled Clinical Trials. However, there is an easier way to do this, and this has been shown by several authors. Presumably, your GDATA file contains a variance term, known as the sampling variance, with a separate value for each study. These are held fixed in meta-analysis. (It is not clear that you defined the sampling variance properly). Only the among-study variance is estimated. But the Normand approach treats the among-study variance as the residual, where usually the residual should be the within-study variance (with a separate value for each study, held fixed). This all still works out correctly if all you want is the estimated expected effect size and its estimated standard error. But if you want BLUPs for each study, then you need additional post-model-fitting steps.