BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
andy_wk
Calcite | Level 5

I'm giving you a bit of background before asking my question. I've done a univariate PLS regression where I came out with many models.

My boss asked to interpret the PLS regression for the best model.

As I've never done a PLS before, I don't know how to interpret that.

What does he mean by interpretation?

Thanks for any leads you will be able to give me.

Cheers.

9 REPLIES 9
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

Can you share code and output?  Without those, interpretation becomes pretty difficult.  I think by interpretation your boss is asking you--"So I see this equation here.  What can you tell me about it?"

Steve Denham

andy_wk
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Steve,

I will do that tonight. I'm working on something else that needs my full attention, or almost full Smiley Happy

Cheers.

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

I've done a univariate PLS regression where I came out with many models.

Normally, when you do a PLS, you get one model, so this needs explanation.

says

--"So I see this equation here.  What can you tell me about it?"

Often, the interpretation of a PLS model refers to loadings and not the final model equation

--
Paige Miller
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

Very true.  But there is a model equation, and that has an interpretation--including the new independent variables that are constructed and the loadings of the measured variables onto the components (as the simplest PLS for univariate responses is regression on principal components).

I am guessing that the OP has done a lot regressing a single variable on a battery of observed variables, and thus came up with "many models".  Kind of misses one of the main advantages in PLS, but I think that is what was done.

Steve Denham

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

I have never seen an interpretation of the final PLS model equation; I have only seen interpretations of the loadings and the score plots. Maybe I'm reading the wrong journals.