BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
keckk
Fluorite | Level 6
Hi statisticians and glimmix users!

This is the first time I used a glimmix model with the dist=multinomial option to fit an ordinal response (0,1,2).:
proc glimmix data=x METHOD=LAPLACE;
class farm genotype animal;
model score = genotype sweek genotype*sweek /
dist=multinomial link=cumlogit s oddsratio (diff=all);
random int / subject=farm s;
random int sweek / subject=animal s;
run;

I don't have experiences with multinomial logistic regression, and the few examples I studied did not address the issue of model fit and violation of model assumptions. How can I find out if the cumulative logit link has done its job properly ?

...a non-statistician user is asking.
Thanks for any hint or help.
7 REPLIES 7
Dale
Pyrite | Level 9
I'm afraid that the GLIMMIX procedure does not have much facility for testing the proportional odds assumption, if that is what you are after. About the best that you could do would be to construct all binary splits on your response variable and fit the GLIMMIX code which you have to each candidate binary split. You could then construct graphs in which a predictor variable is plotted on the X axis and the Y axis is the estimated logit. For each binary split, you would plot the resulting logits for each level of a categorical predictor variable or for two values of a continuous predictor variable. (For a continuous predictor variable, these can be any two values that you choose so long as you employ the same two values for every binary split.) Further detail about construction of these graphics is given below.

In your case, suppose that score has four ordered levels with values 1, 2, 3, and 4. You would create three binary splits of the data: 1 vs >1, 2 vs >2, and 3 vs >3. Construct three new variables:

score1 = (score>1);
  score2 = (score>2);
  score3 = (score>3);

and fit your glimmix code to each of these three new response variables. I would add the LSMEANS statements